An update re: updates

I’ve decided to write a short blog, every week, for a year.

I set up this blog in 2011. I made six posts (four of them good) and abandoned writing just under a year later. I am going to try again, this time with less ambition but more commitment.

My earlier blogs involved a fair amount of research and a long drafting and redrafting process. New blogs, while hopefully not wholly uninformed, will inevitably be rougher and less in depth. But if I can prove to myself that I can write regularly then maybe I can convince myself to complete a longer piece again sometime in the future.

More often than not upcoming entries will be on less serious topics than my earlier writing. That said, given the awfulness of last year and the consequences that have yet to hit, I am sure that some weeks I will rage-type (and then more calmly edit) an entry. But I also expect to write about TV and books and other things that make me happy rather than furious.

And I’m looking forward to quite a few things this year. I want to read Hag-seedThe Good Immigrant, and What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours. I want to read, watch, and cry at A Monster Calls. I want to watch the third series of Inside No.9, and of Catastrophe, and the second series of Flowers. I want to write a blog that is sometimes escapist, sometimes serious, and always updated every week.

I want to write. I intend to write.

I’ll see you at the weekend.

Leave a comment

Filed under Short reads

Leave a comment